Please note, some phrases translation could be wrong
Addis Ababa Region Flag
Addis Ababa Region Map

Addis Ababa

Located more or less at the dead centre of Ethiopia, and surrounded by the state of Oromia, the capital city of Ethiopia is governed as a 540 square km city-state of which less than 5% is rural. According to 2013 estimates of the Central Statistical Agency of Ethiopia, the population of Addis Ababa is 3.1 million of which 51.6% are female. Almost half of Addis Ababa cosmopolitan population is Amhara, with Oromo, Gurage and Tigraian residents respectively making up 19%, 17% and 7.6% of the remainder. More than 80% of its residents are Orthodox Christians. The capital city is subdivided into six zones and 28 woredas. Amharic is the working language, but English is widely spoken.

Addis Ababa Region Major Cities and Population

No. City Name 2013 Population 2017 Population Est.
1 Addis Ababa (Adis Ababa) 3,103,700 3,434,000

Regional States and Chartered Cities of Ethiopia

No. Region Capital City Status Area (Sq. Kilometers) Population 2017 Est.
1 Addis Ababa Addis Ababa City 527 3,434,000
2 Afar Asayita State 72,053 1,812,002
3 Amhara Bahir Dar State 154,709 21,134,988
4 Benishangul-Gumuz Asosa State 50,699 1,066,001
5 Dire Dawa Dire Dawa City 1,559 466,000
6 Gambela Gambela State 29,783 435,999
7 Harari Harar State 334 246,000
8 Oromia Addis Ababa State 284,538 35,467,001
9 Somali Jijiga State 279,252 5,748,998
10 Tigray Mekele State 84,722 5,247,005
11 Southern Nations Nationalities and People (SNNPR) Awasa State 54,400 9,126,000
12 Sidama Awasa State 12,000 3,200,000
13 South West Ethiopia People Region (SWEPR) Bonga State 39,400 2,300,000

Copyright © 2024 All Rights Reserved.
While using, you agree to have read and accepted our Terms of Use and Cookie and Privacy Policy.